Critique this Blog!

Image

Hello!  This is Kim – the one responsible for the dramatic changes to the SEEC blog.  I am part of cohort 6 of the Environmental Education masters program and the new blog manager.  I admit that I made these changes with little consultation with the SEEC community.  But, knowing Ashland and typical group dynamics, most things are slow to get started.  I have taken the first step.  Now it is your turn.  Please comment on this post with your reaction – good and bad.  Give me constructive criticism that I can work with.

Thank you!

My vision for Hike and Go SEEC!:

  • Mission – to educate the public about the environment and local environmental events; to promote SEEC programs such as Fall in the Field; to showcase the work of EE (Environmental Education) graduates; to inform potential graduates about the EE masters program
  • Audience – local community; potential graduate students; current EE graduates and alumni; teachers, parents, and students interested in SEEC programs; anyone interested in nature
  • Appearance – professional, simple, easy to navigate, brimming with pictures, attractive
  • Structure – the structure should reflect the level of importance of each aspect of the blog; the blog posts are the most important so they are the most visible, contact information is less important so it is less visible, etc.
9 thoughts on “Critique this Blog!”

    1. I think there is a way to see the old version, but we would have to be at the same computer. I’ll try to describe the other version:

      1. The main page (“home page”) was static with a picture slide show and the post categories below. Basically, the first page you saw was “Find your sense of wonder…” (with info on who was managing the blog).
      2. The background theme was blue with swirly and cartoon designs that were weather/nature related.
      3. “Fall in the Field” and “Graduate Program” were not part of the main menu. They were subcategories under “What we do”

  1. I think it needs a background image/color or something. I think the posts are great, and probably have to be assigned in order to get everyone to make posts. All in all, I think it’s great so far. I have been recommending it to every student that emails us with an interest in the program.

    1. Thanks for the suggestion! I fiddled around a little with the background. I can’t find a way to change the main white background, but I managed to add a little more color. What do you think?

  2. I think it looks way better now that the background and header are different. Is there a way to change the font for the text on the header? That’s probably the only thing I would change at this point.

  3. Looks great! I like your clear mission too. Only critique: the white font is kind of hard to read over the picture. Maybe you could fill the text box with black?

  4. I think your upgrades to the blog look AMAZING! It was not that appealing to look at when I took it over. I thought it was going to be a much easier job than it turned out to be. I’m glad you were able to take the reigns and are keeping the blog looking fresh and up to date. Since you have taken on a lot of leadership roles, I would recommend that you pass the blog manager duties on to someone else in your cohort that maybe doesn’t have as many leadership positions as you do. Way to jump on many of the opportunities that came your way. Very impressive!

    1. Thanks Mandy! I was particularly anxious to know your opinion. I had a lot of time on my hands before class started. Hillary also suggested handing off the blog in order to make time… I’ve grown so attached to it! I’m definitely going to recruit some help. P.S. Any news from FITF that your cohort would like to post on the blog?

Leave a Reply

