Season’s Greetings from Idaho

This is Jenna, saying hi from the great state of Idaho. Cohort 5 already knows how much I love the land where I grew up, but I thought I’d give them and the rest of the world a glimpse of how beautiful the foothills above Boise are, even in the dead of winter. Click on the photos to enlarge them. Enjoy!

idaho
Photo by Jenna Raino.

I went on a brisk morning hike with a group last week. As you can see, the lighting could not have been more striking.

Photo by Jenna Raino.
Rabbitbrush, with Bogus Basin (the local ski hill) in the background. Photo by Jenna Raino.

I love the way the rose hips bring color to the landscape. They make great forage for animals.

Photo by Jenna Raino.
Photo by Jenna Raino.

Fluffy heads on the rabbitbrush — it is in the winter when the name suddenly becomes evident.

Photo by Jenna Raino.
Photo by Jenna Raino.

A lone survivor.

Photo by Jenna Raino.
Photo by Jenna Raino.

You can see Boise from this view.  Twenty-five minutes from downtown, and I can’t hear a single car. Life is good.

Photo by Jenna Raino.
Photo by Jenna Raino.

I adore my foothills. When I was younger there were not any houses between my house and the foothills. My friends and I would play in the foothills after school or on weekends, and my parents and the dogs (even our 15-year-old pup Beth) hiked 3-4 times a week. Lately, we have been tracking an albino deer, which looks very spectral.

Photo by Jenna Raino.
Photo by Jenna Raino.
Photo by Jenna Raino.
Photo by Jenna Raino.

On clear days you can see the Owyhee Mountain range across the valley. Don’t be fooled — the edge is about 50 miles away.

Photo by Jenna Raino.
Photo by Jenna Raino.

I hope the rest of cohort 5 is enjoying their home land as much as I am this season. Best wishes and happy holidays to all!

Leave a Reply

